Tips for finding Knowledge Articles

  • - Enter just a few key words related to your question or problem
  • - Add Key words to refine your search as necessary
  • - Do not use punctuation
  • - Search is not case sensitive
  • - Avoid non-descriptive filler words like "how", "the", "what", etc.
  • - If you do not find what you are looking for the first time,reduce the number of key words you enter and try searching again.
  • - Minimum supported Internet Explorer version is IE9
Home  >
article

KB-7564: Users are provisioned to Office 365 even they are not in any provisioning role

Centrify Identity Service, App Edition ,  

7 October,16 at 11:40 AM

Applies to: All versions of Centrify Identity Service

Problem:

AD users who are not added to any provisioning role in Office 365 application are still getting provisioned to Office 365.

Following message will be logged for such users in sync report:


===========================================================
Sync Report Summary: Office 365

   User updated:
      XXX@domain.com (c329c106-28aa-4f8f-8b5c-594ba21a1b76) => XXX@domain.com
         Reason: Created/Updated user/related object XXX@domain.com(BsEpw6ooj0+LXFlLohobdg==) in O365.


Cause:


When Hybrid mode is enabled in Provisioning page, and 'Users' option is ticked for specific domain as below, all the AD users from this AD domain will be monitored. That means even the user is not in any provisioning role, it will still be synced to Office 365without assigning any license. It will be treated as related user

User-added image

From the sync report:

2016-10-05T00:47:51.4825755Z
processSyncUser: User XXX@domain.com belongs to the roles: Everybody

2016-10-05T00:47:51.4825755Z
SyncRelatedUserInternal: User XXX@domain.com has no matched licensed role but is a related user.


It means that, even there is no match licensed role for the user, the user is treated as a related user (because the "Users" checkbox under Hybrid Exchange mode was checked), and the user will be sync'ed to Office 365 without license.

Workaround:

If it is not intended to sync all those users to Office 365, follow the steps below to de-provision the unwanted users:

1. Setup the appropriate deprovisioning rule for the event "User Removed from Role or Provisioning". 

2. Uncheck the Users option for specific AD domain and save the change.

3. Trigger a sync on those unwanted users, and the users will be deprovisioned from Office 365 according to the rule you set up in Step 1 above.

User-added image

Still have questions? Click here to log a technical support case, or collaborate with your peers in Centrify's Online Community.