Tips for finding Knowledge Articles

  • - Enter just a few key words related to your question or problem
  • - Add Key words to refine your search as necessary
  • - Do not use punctuation
  • - Search is not case sensitive
  • - Avoid non-descriptive filler words like "how", "the", "what", etc.
  • - If you do not find what you are looking for the first time,reduce the number of key words you enter and try searching again.
  • - Minimum supported Internet Explorer version is IE9
Home  >
article

KB-4880: Network home folder is still mounted with locked files after logout on Mac 10.9 and 10.10

Centrify Identity Service, Mac Edition ,  

12 April,16 at 11:17 AM

Applies to: Any version of Centrify DirectControl on Mac OS X 10.9 and 10.10

Problem:

When an AD user that has a pure network home logs in to a 10.9 machine and logs out the Shared files stay open and the session remains connected on the Windows share server. This happens on Windows Server 2003 and 2008. 

Here is an example of the open sessions and open files that can be found on Windows Server 2008 R2 (in Server Manager > Roles > File Services > Share and Storage Management > Manage Sessions/Open Files) after logging out of the Mac: 

User-added image

User-added image


Workaround:
  1. Reboot or shut down the Mac after the user logs out. 
  2. Close the user's session on the Windows Server.

Additional Notes:
  • This is NOT a Centrify issue and also happens when using the native Apple AD plugin.
  • Apple has been notified of this issue (Apple Bug ID #18688439) and it has since been marked as a duplicate of Apple Bug ID #18380560.

Still have questions? Click here to log a technical support case, or collaborate with your peers in Centrify's Online Community.

Related Articles

No related Articles