Tips for finding Knowledge Articles

  • - Enter just a few key words related to your question or problem
  • - Add Key words to refine your search as necessary
  • - Do not use punctuation
  • - Search is not case sensitive
  • - Avoid non-descriptive filler words like "how", "the", "what", etc.
  • - If you do not find what you are looking for the first time,reduce the number of key words you enter and try searching again.
  • - Minimum supported Internet Explorer version is IE9
Home  >
article

KB-3971: How to roll back to local account after unlinking from Account Migration Tool on Mac OS X

Centrify Identity Service, Mac Edition ,  

12 April,16 at 11:20 AM

Applies to: Centrify Account Migration on all versions of Mac OS X

Question:

When the Account Migration tool is used to migrate a local account to an AD account, the local account Username and UID are deleted off the system user list and (on agent versions 5.2.1 and lower) an entry will be added into the mapping file to show that it has been mapped to an AD account. 

The local user credentials are no longer valid after this (the user will need to enter their AD credentials instead), but what if the user wants to roll back to a local-only account?


Answer: 

When the user wants to roll back to a local-only account, they only need undo the migration link and create a new local account (with the same username) to access the home directory with local credentials again:
  1. If the user was migrated from an agent version lower than 5.2.1, unlink the user using the Centrify Account Migration preference panel. There will be a pop up saying that the user will need to create a local account with the same name to access this home directory.
    • User-added image
  2. Go to System Preferences > Users & Groups
  3. Create a new local user with the same username
    • (If the Mac local username was "maclocal", then make sure to create the new user with this same name)
  4. Agree to the prompt asking to use the existing home directory: 
    • User-added image
  5. The local user will now be able to log in with the previously-migrated home folder.


 

Still have questions? Click here to log a technical support case, or collaborate with your peers in Centrify's Online Community.